The financial encyclopedia uses cookies to improve your user experience. Find out more here!




Caribbean Common Market


Formed in 1973, the Caribbean Common Market included at the outset twelve member states: Belize and Guyana on the Arnerican mainland and Antigua, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts/Nevis/Anguilla, St Lucia, St Vincent and Trinidad/Tobago in the Caribbean. The Community has a secretariat in Georgetown, Guyana. The common market has an agreed common external import tariffs. The member states also have policies for cooperation in health and education, agriculture and transport.

Reference: The Penguin Dictionary of Economics, 3rd edt.