The financial encyclopedia uses cookies to improve your user experience. Find out more here!






The City of London financial district, or ‘square mile’. This area includes the Bank of England, the London Stock Exchange, Lloyd’s, and the headquarters of many UK banks, insurance companies, and other financial institutions. It also contains branches of many foreign and international banks and financial institutions. ‘The City’ is also used to stand for the people working there in the financial sector.


Reference: Oxford Press Dictonary of Economics, 5th edt.