The financial encyclopedia uses cookies to improve your user experience. Find out more here!




Colombo Plan


The Colombo Plan for Cooperative Economic and Social Development in Asia and the Pacific is a regional intergovernmental organization established on 1 July 1951 by Australia, Canada, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and the United Kingdom. It later expanded to include 26 member countries from outside the Commonwealth.


Reference: Oxford Press Dictonary of Economics, 5th edt.